

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Report to Academic Council at its meeting of October 16, 2012

FOR ACTION

1. Academic Council Teaching Faculty Nominations

The Executive Committee recommends:

That Academic Council appoint the following faculty members to serve as elected members of Academic Council for three year terms (July 1, 2012-June 30, 2015):

a) Faculty Representatives

Hannah Scott, Associate Professor, Social Science and Humanities Diana Petrarca, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Education

b) "At Large" Representatives

Jeremy Bradbury, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Science Kristy Buccieri, Lecturer, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities Maurice di Giuseppe, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Education Gail Lindsay, Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences Lennart Nacke, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Business and Information Technology

A call for nominations for teaching faculty representatives on Academic Council was sent to all faculty members on September 11 via electronic mail. In all, seven nominations were received, one for each of the two faculty positions and five for the five "at large" nominations. As a result, an election was not necessary, and it is recommended that the nominees identified above be acclaimed to the positions.

2. Academic Council Student Nominations

The Executive Committee recommends:

That Academic Council appoint the following students to serve as elected members of Academic Council and its committees for two year terms (September 1, 2012-August 31, 2014):

a) Academic Council

Omar Afifi, BEng program in Mechanical Engineering

b) Academic Appeals Committee

Syed Husain, BCom program Sabina Narula, BHSc program

c) Curriculum and Program Review Committee

Aajab Abdulhusein, BSc program in Biology

d) Honorary Degrees Committee

Mohamed Rizwan Bachani, BCom program in Finance

A call for nominations for student representatives on Academic Council and its standing committees was sent out at the end September. In all there were five vacancies to be filled this year. The call was posted on the UOIT website and the student "mycampus" portal for the duration of the nomination period, from September 10-21, 2012. To be eligible for the positions, nominees must be full-time students in good standing.

During the nomination period, fourteen nominations were received, and an online vote was held on September 26-27, 2011. During that time, 890 students cast their votes, and the successful candidates are identified above.

3. Academic Council Committee Nomination

The Academic Council Executive Committee recommends that the following individual be appointed to the Academic Council Executive Committee for a three year term (to June 30, 2015):

a) Academic Council Executive Committee

Gail Lindsay, Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

FOR INFORMATION

4. 2012 UOIT Teaching Awards

The Committee extends its congratulations to the recipients of the 2012 UOIT Teaching Awards:

a) Core Faculty Teaching Award

Sharon Lauricella, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities

b) Complementary Faculty Teaching Award

Kari Kumar, Lecturer, Faculty of Health Sciences

c) Teaching Assistant Award

Sonja Stadler, Teaching Assistant, Faculty of Science

The selection committee for this year's recipients was comprised of Dr. Dhavide Aruliah (Faculty of Science and 2011 Teaching Award recipient -Core), Ms. Paula di Cato (Faculty of Science and 2011 Teaching Award recipient -Complementary), Mr. Rami El-Emam (Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, and 2011 Teaching Award recipient -Teaching Assistant), Dr. Bill Hunter (Faculty of Education), Ms. Marj Rempel, (Teaching and Learning Centre), and Lennart van Veen (Faculty of Science).